White Sox news, Minor Leagues updates and more

March 12, 2011

Lastings Milledge to remain with the White Sox [UPDATE]

Filed under: Chicago White Sox — The Wizard @ March 12, 2011 4:00 pm
Tags: ,

Ballentini @ CSN tweets:

[Lastings] Milledge just told me White Sox have made such an impression on him, he’ll def remain w/team whether or not he sticks right out of camp

UPDATE: From Ballantini’s article on Milledge:

The 2011 White Sox are not a short-term proposition for Milledge, either. Not that he’s angling to fall short of making the big club, but he’s already anticipated any setbacks along the way.

“I’m definitely going to Charlotte [AAA] if I don’t make the club,” Milledge said. “We already talked about it. I don’t have a problem with that. Whether starting at AAA and going from there, I’ve been there and done that as well. I just want to be the best at what I do when I’m called upon and the team needs me to step up. Whatever the case may be, I want to be able to step in and be productive when I’m called upon.”

Maybe Charlotte won’t be needed:

Fourth outfielder candidate Milledge continued to state his case for the 25th spot on the roster, playing a flawless center field and going 1-3 with an RBI.

“I’m happy with the way Milledge is playing right now,” Guillen said. “He’s playing very good. Catching the ball is very important.”

Guillen wasn’t worried about Milledge getting picked off of first after leading off the ninth inning with a single.

“I want [players] to create some confidence in spring training to steal bases.”

BTW, JJ says Milledge would be a perfect fit for the White Sox outfield.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.