White Sox news, Minor Leagues updates and more

June 14, 2011

Jake Peavy says he’s willing to pitch out of the bullpen; Sox don’t sound enthused

Filed under: Chicago White Sox — The Wizard @ June 14, 2011 10:20 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Padilla @ ESPN:

“I’ll do whatever needs to happen and I made that known to (pitching coach Don Cooper) and (manager) Ozzie (Guillen),” Peavy said. “I’ll do whatever they think I can do to help the club in any way. I think they know that.”

“I just think we got five guys going pretty good right now,” Peavy said. “We’ve taken some heat about the six-man rotation. Are we doing the right thing or wrong thing? I’m just letting them know my end of the deal. I’ll do whatever I can do to help.

“Do I think I can pitch out of the bullpen? Absolutely. I think I can help. But I’m certainly not opposed to me being in the six-man rotation, either. We’ll see what happens.”

“If this team gets in the playoffs, this team can certainly win a championship,” Peavy said. “That’s all you can ask. The common goal when we’re on the flights and sitting around, talking with the guys is to grind it out and just try to get in. Do all we can do to get in and give this team a chance because we do feel we have a great chance to win a championship if we do get in.”

and from the link below,

“I love our pitching and I think we’ve been about as steady as we can be,” Peavy said. “Our offense, with [Adam] Dunn getting going and [Alex] Rios starting to show signs, I think we’ve got enough. We certainly have enough talent to win the [American League] Central, but we certainly got our work cut out for us with Detroit, as good as they are, Cleveland and this team [the Twins] and Kansas City. We’ve got a tough division.”

What do the Sox say?

“We did talk to Kenny about it,” Guillen said. “Kenny wasn’t too sure about that. We appreciate but I think it’s too early to concern ourselves about bullpen stuff [with Peavy]. We appreciate that because he wants to help. But right now I think everything was just worry about we put it up to Kenny and he say get him healthy and get him back here. Then we make the decision when he comes [back].”

Other White Sox links: J.J. looks at the implications of a Dayan Viciedo-Juan Pierre swap and has a Sox-Twins Q&A with Aaron Gleeman, James looks at Paul Konerko’ HOF chances and is surprised at the directness of Scott Merkin’s ‘Kenny wants Viciedo’ article, (I was surprised too with Kenny saying out loud I want Viciedo but Ozzie wants Pierre), and Mike wonders if the Sox will re-acquire Aaron Poreda.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

The Rubric Theme. Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

