White Sox news, Minor Leagues updates and more

July 5, 2010

Mark Buehrle earns full no trading rights (10-and-5)

Filed under: Chicago White Sox — The Wizard @ July 5, 2010 11:00 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Gonzales:

Mark Buehrle told general manager Ken Williams on Monday that he had 9 1/2 hours to get rid of him or he’d be stuck with him.

Williams laughed and told Buehrle he didn’t even think about Monday night’s deadline before Buehrle’s full no-trade rights kicked in as a player with 10 years of major league service, all with the White Sox. …

Jerry kept his word:

“I think when the whole contract thing was going down, I wanted a no-trade clause because I wanted to know I’d be here the whole time,” Buehrle said of the four-year extension he signed with the White Sox on July 8, 2007. “I give props to [Sox owner] Jerry [Reinsdorf] and [general manager] Kenny [Williams] , they kept their word. Jerry called me into the office after I signed and told me, ‘We’re not signing you to trade you. You’ve got my word that we’re not going to trade you.’ And he held up to it.”

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

The Rubric Theme. Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

