White Sox news, Minor Leagues updates and more

May 3, 2010

Peavy returns to form. Sox win 5-1.

No walk parade for Jake today. 9 strikeouts and 1 walk.

A look at the TBs: Alexei: 5 TBs (HR, 1B), Rios: 4 TBs (2B, 2 1B, CS), Andruw: 3 TBs (2B, 1B, SB). Beckham has 2 BB and Pierre 2 SB.

Video highlights

From the boxscore:

Chi White Sox IP H R ER BB SO HR ERA
Peavy(W, 1-2) 7.0 4 0 0 1 9 0 6.31
Thornton 1.0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2.84
Linebrink 1.0 2 1 1 0 0 1 5.23
Totals 9.0 6 1 1 1 9 1 4.75

The Pitch F/X tool says: (more…)

Gordon Beckham defends Greg Walker

Filed under: Chicago White Sox — The Wizard @ May 3, 2010 11:25 pm
Tags: ,

Gonzales:

… “We’ll set the record straight,” Beckham said. “Anybody who thinks it’s Greg Walker’s fault that we haven’t hit well is wrong.”

Beckham worked on flip drills on the field four hours before the game and employed the same wide stance that he and Walker worked on last Wednesday.

“That’s something I tinkered with,” Beckham said. “I’m going to continue some form of that, but it doesn’t have to be as wide. Once again, it’s small adjustments that will get me in the right spot because my swing is the same, no matter if I’m swinging good or bad. It’s the same swing.”

Baseball-Intellect looks at Jake Peavy

Filed under: Chicago White Sox — The Wizard @ May 3, 2010 11:13 pm
Tags:

Eisenberg:

… Now, I’ve gone and looked at the tape of Peavy and I notice only subtle differences between Peavy’s lower body action. However, I don’t think I have the right angle of video to make a detailed analysis about Peavy’s lower body. I’d need to see something from a side angle, something I don’t have.

But there are other differences from the center field camera that I noticed and they relate to his arm action.

Each pitch, Peavy pounds the ball into his glove as a timing mechanism for when to get going. He punches the glove and then breaks his hands. Below, from left to right, we have Peavy in early April of 2010 (fastball at 87 mph), late April of 2010 (fastball at 93 mph), and in 2009 (fastball at 95 mph).


*Credit to MLB Advanced Media

Now, there are two frames where I pause the graphics. … More at the link.

Fortunately Peavy was back to his old form tonight: 7 IP, 4 H, 0 R, 1 BB, 9 K.

Kenny Williams says the White Sox have 1 month [UPDATE]

Filed under: Chicago White Sox — The Wizard @ May 3, 2010 5:57 pm
Tags: , ,

What do you think of this year’s White Sox, Kenny?

“In another month, I’ll answer that question. I’d like it to take only a few days, but if I evaluate the team on the performance so far, it wouldn’t be such a great evaluation. So we’ll wait. I’d really like to tell a white lie right now, but if I said I had a lot of patience, you’d call me on it. Let’s just say I’m patient enough.”

Kenny remains in a patient no-trade mode:

“Well, No. 1, I don’t think anyone is really prepared to make any deals right now. And any interest expressed in any players out there who are impact guys have been done so for quite some time. There really isn’t much substance to anything at this stage of the season. Another 30 games, and you’ll start to see talk pick up. If you’re not playing well, it doesn’t make any sense to go down those roads, anyway. You got to warrant that.”

could you host a fire-sale Kenny?

“Perhaps. We haven’t been in that position before. Even when we were, we were actively looking to get better, not just for now but for setting us up for the next year. Even if on the surface it’s not going as well as we like, there’s still that aggressive part of who we are at that stage that will probably prevent that. It’s tough with the type of personalities around here, it’s tough to dial it back.”

Did you talk it over with team president Jerry Reinsdorf?

“We’ve talked about the offense a little bit, but I probably talked more basketball than baseball with him in our last couple of conversations.”

The Rubric Theme. Blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.