White Sox news, Minor Leagues updates and more

April 21, 2010

A.J. Pierzynski: I’m the one guy that they probably can move

Filed under: Chicago White Sox — The Wizard @ April 21, 2010 5:34 pm
Tags: , , ,

Levine:

“I kind of was expecting it due to the fact that pretty soon here I’ll be 10-and-five where they can’t move me [without my approval],” Pierzynski said Wednesday on “The Afternoon Saloon” on ESPN 1000. “We haven’t really had any talks about me staying here extension-wise. I’m the one guy that they probably can move. I have an expiring contract; they can’t trade [Paul] Konerko because he has a full no-trade clause.

“They don’t really have a lot of other pieces that they would want to trade that are expiring. Hopefully it doesn’t happen, but you just never know.”

UPDATE: Ozzie’s reaction:

“He’s good. He’s not going to lose his job. I’m very happy with what I’ve got and I have a lot of optimism with what I have and I think A.J. is my catcher, hopefully he doesn’t get hurt. But I believe in him. He doesn’t have to worry about anything – not with me.

But when you start making comments about your contract and how long you’re going to be, when is your first day, when is your last day, I think it’s not necessary. But I’m not going to tell my players what to say when your manager says whatever he wants. I respect that. … He’s my catcher until he gets traded or he’s not here anymore. As long as I’m here, I don’t see him why he’s not going to be my catcher.”

1 Comment »

  1. Poor A.J., what to do with a talented catcher devoted to alienating everyone and sabotaging whatever legacy he might leave to the game. A.J. needs to release his inner demons, like yesterday.

    Comment by John L Mendez — April 22, 2010 @ April 22, 2010 3:35 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

The Rubric Theme Blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

