White Sox news, Minor Leagues updates and more

February 24, 2010

Alex Rios and Carlos Quentin banking on 2010 improvements

Filed under: Chicago White Sox — The Wizard @ February 24, 2010 11:42 pm
Tags: ,

On Rios:

In order to facilitate that on-field improvement, Rios worked privately with hitting coach Greg Walker during a few offseason sessions in Miami. Rios admitted to making too many changes in his batting stance when things went bad in 2009 and plans to use a slightly more crouched approach, which worked for him in the past.

“That’s how I used to hit,” Rios said. “When you start changing things, and you find out you’re in a bigger hole when you keep changing things. I just want to keep it simple this year and keep doing what I was doing a few years ago and I think Walker saw it. So he’s going to give me reminders and hints on what we’re going to do.”

And on Quentin:

As for Quentin, an American League Most Valuable Player candidate in 2008 before fracturing his right wrist at the start of September, he worked with a new training facility in Santa Barbara during the offseason to set up a plan to keep him in optimum condition for 2010. Quentin, 27, called it more functional training, focusing on a lot of rotational power and a lot of explosive movements, which he wasn’t sure would be possible in the offseason.

“There was a lot of deep tissue work, a lot of scar adhesions being broken up,” Quentin said. “Just a very extensive and specific system to evaluate my body and allow me to get better and to get the most flexibility. I’m really excited about it. I have a very specific plan to stay healthy and stay on the field.”

Throughout the rest of Spring Training, Quentin will be asked about his left wrist and maybe even his right wrist, which had a wire removed during offseason surgery. It’s a topic that figures to come up, even though Quentin said he felt great in all areas on Wednesday.

Mark Buehrle doesn’t seem excited about this Twitter thing

Filed under: Chicago White Sox — The Wizard @ February 24, 2010 11:00 pm
Tags: , ,

Mark Buehrle on Ozzie’s twittering:

“I could give two (bleeps) about it,” Buehrle said. “I think this whole Facebook, Twitter, all this stuff is ridiculous, if you ask me.”

BTW, Buehrle on his future:

“I got two years left on this contract. Everybody says I’m crazy, but as I sit here today I can see myself walking away pretty easy. My family is the biggest thing. I want to see my kids grow up. I don’t want to have to be down here at spring training or during the season be out on the road somewhere and have my son and my daughter call me saying ‘Daddy, I scored a goal or I got a hit today in a game.’I i want to be there for that.

“I’ve done enough stuff in this game and obviously made enough money that I think I can walk away in a couple years and be satisfied.”

Ozzie Guillen doesn’t like the questioning of his twittering

Filed under: Chicago White Sox — The Wizard @ February 24, 2010 9:03 pm
Tags: ,

Gregor:

“Let me start with this – that’s why this world is all screwed up,” Guillen said during a lengthy address on the subject. “I want to say (bleep) off, but I can’t. All of a sudden we’re worrying about something that is personal. I wanted to do something that is fun off the field; all of a sudden they’re making a big deal of this thing.

“It’s a thing out there about Ozzie Guillen; it’s not the White Sox organization or anything. If people think I’m going to go out there and say what I say to Andruw Jones or Carlos (Quentin) or what my signs are going to be or what the lineup is going to be, that’s a little different.

“This has nothing to do with the organization or baseball. It’s my life. I don’t know why people are making a big deal of it. All of a sudden, it’s Ozzie Guillen. I didn’t know how famous I was. That’s pretty interesting. I thought people hate me.” …

UPDATE: Garfein has video. More video.

Kenny Williams isn’t amused with Ozzie Guillen’s new communication endeavors

Filed under: Chicago White Sox — The Wizard @ February 24, 2010 12:45 pm
Tags: ,

Cowley:

Williams was first sent a text asking him to comment on the fact that his say-anything manager had opened a Twitter account for himself on Tuesday night.

“Are you serious?’’ was his reply.

Then when asked about it in person, Williams’ reply?

“No comment … and make sure you write that it is a no comment with a headshake from side to side.’’

Asked if he was next to join the social media craze that Ozzie Guillen had now fallen into, Williams said, “No, never.’’

Ozzie says his sons, Ozzie Jr. and Oney, handle his twitting, but Oney says he isn’t involved.

February 24 links

- BDD’s Top Prospects Compilation: Update #15:

Spreadsheet: 2009-2010-Top-Prospect-Lists.xls [210 KB]

- Opening Day (1985 and on) and Year-end (1999 and on) payroll information for all MLB teams from Biz of Baseball. Also some, not all, player salaries for years before 1985.

- MLBTR’s White Sox Offseason Review.

- Final draft order.

- Mark Gonzales tells us the areas the Sox will be focusing on in their Spring Training workouts.

- Golebiewski @ BDD: “Can Chris B. Young Be Salvaged?”

- Players improve in the second year of a 2-yr contract.

- Wrist Injuries and Power: A Quick Glance.

Kenny, Ozzie, and the DH

Filed under: Chicago White Sox — The Wizard @ February 24, 2010 1:53 am
Tags: , , , ,

Cowley:

While Guillen and Williams are on the same page in many instances, the job description of the DH isn’t one of them. Williams wants a 40-homer bull while Guillen wants matchup nightmares.

So even with Williams saying he and Guillen have been on the same page, his actions scream otherwise.

Case in point: SoxFest and Williams throwing Jim Thome at Guillen’s feet to either bring him aboard or allow him to continue his free-agent shopping.

Once Guillen took the pass on Thome, Williams started shaking the Scott Boras tree and seeing if Johnny Damon fell out. Detroit gave the former Yankee 8 million reasons to go to Motown. …

Ozzie Guillen is on Twitter

Filed under: Chicago White Sox — The Wizard @ February 24, 2010 12:10 am
Tags:

Ozzie is in the building: @OzzieGuillen

As Anthony Castrovince said:

“At long last, @OzzieGuillen is on Twitter. I’m pretty sure that’s why this thing was invented.”

PS. Dalai Lama also just joined Twitter: @DalaiLama. Coincidence?

The Rubric Theme Blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.