White Sox news, Minor Leagues updates and more

November 28, 2009

Mark Buehrle describes his ‘American Chopper’ experience

Filed under: Chicago White Sox — The Wizard @ November 28, 2009 11:49 am
Tags: , ,

Mark Buehrle was quite surprised when he got an ‘American Chopper’ bike from his wife, Jamie:

Jamie’s surprise plan worked better than she could have imagined. She invited family, friends, neighbors and White Sox teammates for a barbeque at their house on that particular Thursday, but revealed the chopper’s arrival to provide a little extra incentive for as many people as possible to attend.

So Mark was the only one left in the dark. When Teutul drove up on the chopper, Mark’s first thought wasn’t, “I think I’m getting a custom-made OCC chopper, and this event is being taped for rebroadcast.” It was more along the lines of, “Who is invading my family’s privacy?” A look of bubbling anger is evident on Mark’s face when he first walked into the frame near the end of Thursday’s show.

“This is what happened,” Mark explained. “I can’t think of the guy’s name, but it was a guy who worked with the White Sox, one of the tradesmen at U.S. Cellular. He drove a bike, a louder bike, and had the same sort of gray hair as Paul Sr. So, I saw what I thought was him and thought, ‘What is he doing here on my off-day and how does he know where I live?’

“Then I saw the TV cameras and the booms with microphones on it and I thought, ‘He brought Comcast with him?’ Then, I was [upset]. I’m chilling with my family and friends and this guy brings Comcast?

“At that point, I’m thinking, ‘I’m going to go off on someone,’” said Buehrle, laughing at the whole situation in hindsight. “As I got closer, I could see there was more going on. I first thought it was something bad, and it turned out to be something really good.” …

Another student for Omar Vizquel

Filed under: Chicago White Sox — The Wizard @ November 28, 2009 11:27 am
Tags: ,

Besides Alexei Ramirez and Gordon Beckham, Omar Vizquel may help the Sox 20-year-old Venezuelan shortstop, Eduardo Escobar, says Phil Rogers:

Escobar, like Vizquel a switch hitter from Venezuela, hasn’t received a lot of attention as a prospect because he has a .320 career on-base percentage with limited power, hitting .256 this season.  Vizquel batted .263 in high Class A when he was 20. His fielding skills were so advanced, however, the Mariners brought him to the big leagues at 22, and he has gone on to play a record 2,681 games at shortstop.  He’s a lifetime .273 hitter who once batted .333 and hit .295 in 2006, when he was 39. Some with the White Sox believe Escobar has that type of potential. “He struggled really badly the first two or three months this season and was terrific the last two months,” White Sox farm director Buddy Bell said. “That’s a great sign. But I don’t think we want to drop Omar Vizquel (comparisons) on him just yet.”

The Rubric Theme Blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.