White Sox news, Minor Leagues updates and more

October 12, 2009

Bobby Jenks doesn’t like the Sox’ criticism

Filed under: Chicago White Sox — The Wizard @ October 12, 2009 3:12 pm
Tags: , , ,

Merkin:

Jenks is not a happy man, and it has nothing to do with another offseason beginning with trade rumors. Instead, during a weekend chat with MLB.com, Jenks took umbrage with the White Sox once again calling out his conditioning at the end of the 2009 season.

“I’ve done everything I can do, I’ve done everything that is physically possible, to make myself in better shape this year. Where the years previously I didn’t lose weight in-season, I didn’t want my weight issue to be a factor as to why I had an off season.

For four years now, I’ve been the same guy, and when I slow down a little … Bad things happen to anyone, not because I need to get into shape. This has been me the whole time, so where is the problem?

Honestly, I’ve given it a lot of thought these last couple of weeks. The actions of the last two weeks … am I unhappy with them? Yes. Anyone in my situation would feel the same way, but I want to be part of the White Sox 100 percent. Physically and mentally, I’m going to be ready. If I’m not in the White Sox plan, I know there’s a plan for me somewhere.”

Jenks also didn’t like how the Sox handled the rehab of his season-ending injury:

The White Sox left Jenks home to rehab the injury rather than take him on their final road trip, and that did not sit well with Jenks, either. Jenks could walk on the injury while wearing a protective boot and said he would have liked to have joined his teammates for those six games.

“They sent me home early, when I could have gone on the road and rehabbed there, instead of going to a place near my house,” Jenks said. “I [complained] to my wife every day, ‘Why am I home?’”

1 Comment »

  1. i wish the whitesox would get rid of this cry baby that always needs a 5 run cushion to win a game

    Comment by Anonymous — October 17, 2009 @ October 17, 2009 12:39 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

The Rubric Theme. Blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

