White Sox news, Minor Leagues updates and more

July 19, 2009

Freddy Garcia’s back at the Cell (UPDATE #2)

Filed under: Chicago White Sox,MiLB — The Wizard @ July 19, 2009 1:09 pm
Tags: , , ,

Scot Gregor:

Garcia was at U.S. Cellular Field Sunday morning, and he’ll throw a bullpen session Monday. If all goes well, the 33-year-old pitcher will head to the minor leagues and try pitching his way back to the big leagues.

Freddy isn’t concerned about his velocity:

“Velocity doesn’t really matter for me. I can get people out if I throw 83 or 88. As long as my arm strength is there, I’m OK.”

UPDATE: from whitesox.com:

Garcia spent time lounging in street clothes in a back room, reacquainting himself with the coaching staff, but make no mistake — he is here on business. Garcia is scheduled to throw a side session in the bullpen on Monday in front of the White Sox brass to determine where he will be placed within the team’s Minor League system as he attempts to revive his baseball career.

White Sox manager Ozzie Guillen said that, depending on how well Garcia threw, he would either head to Class A Kannapolis or Triple-A Charlotte.  “He’s pretty comfortable,” Guillen said. “He talked about it. He’s excited about it. I’m looking forward to seeing him throw tomorrow. Hopefully, he is what he thinks he is. And then we’ll take it from there. Right now, it’s not in our minds, but tomorrow gets it in a lot of people’s minds.”

He has spent the last month working at extended Spring Training in Glendale, Ariz., and he said if he continued to throw pain-free, his velocity would continue to increase. “I can throw maybe 87, 88, 90 [mph],” Garcia said. “That’s what I need. I threw 82, 83 earlier and I got away with that. But if I don’t have any problems with my shoulder, I can throw 90, 91, 92. I did it last year when I came back.”

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

The Rubric Theme. Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

