White Sox news, Minor Leagues updates and more

July 15, 2009

Ichiro meets Obama and more

Filed under: Chicago White Sox,MiLB — The Wizard @ July 15, 2009 8:10 pm
Tags: , , ,

whitesox.com:

Mariners right fielder Ichiro Suzuki of Japan got an autographed ball from the president, who told fellow AL All-Star Curtis Granderson that he’s a big Ichiro fan.

“My idea, when I saw him, was to say, ‘What’s up?’ to him,” Ichiro said through interpreter Ken Barron. “But I got nervous. You know, he has that kind of aura about him. So I got nervous and I didn’t say that to him. I was a little disappointed about that.

“But I realized after seeing him today that presidents wear jeans, too. So my hope is that our skipper, [Don] Wakamatsu, was watching that and we can wear jeans on our flights as well.”

BTW, here’s Bob Costa’s ‘MLB Tonight’ Obama interview (6:34), Obama locker room stop (1:21), and Buehrle’s interview (0:56).

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

The Rubric Theme Blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

