White Sox news, Minor Leagues updates and more

August 30, 2011

In which Ozzie Guillen wants a contract extension but is reluctant to ask for it

Filed under: Chicago White Sox — The Wizard @ August 30, 2011 10:30 pm
Tags: , , ,

Scott Merkin has Ozzie Guillen’s comments:

“One thing I want to make clear, I don’t think I’m going to be back here for a one-year contract, and I don’t know what to do next year,” said Guillen during Tuesday’s pregame media session. “Eight years with this organization, I’m guessing I do a pretty good job. No, not me, I think the players did it for me, and I think we deserve more than that. But I will have another contract somewhere, doing something in baseball.

“If [White Sox chairman] Jerry [Reinsdorf] wants me back, I’m more than happy to be back. If he’s not, nothing’s going to change. Obviously, I’m going to be sad, because I’d leave the town and the team I love.”

What does Kenny Williams have to say?

“Winning takes care of a lot of things. I might even get an extension if we win,” said Williams. “I have no desire to enter into discussions about these types of things and make anything definitive, because it takes away from what’s happening on the field. If I’m asked that question one more time, I’m going to throw up.

“I’ve got to sit down with Jerry at the end of the season. At this point in time, we’re an underachieving club. So that means players, coaches, the manager and myself, we’re all under review. This is professional sports.

“Am I telling anybody anything you don’t know? But I’ve also said from the very beginning that all I want is the focus to be on the field and I would hope whenever the door is shown to us, maybe we walk out that door together. Everyone has an expiration date.”

So, will you ask the Sox for an extension Ozzie?

The 47-year-old former White Sox player said he has not had discussions on the matter with chairman Jerry Reinsdorf, and said that he isn’t prepared to knock on his door and discuss things in the next few days.”

After all this bad year, the last thing (Reinsdorf) wants to do is to talk to his manager about a new contract,” Guillen said. “I would be embarrassed to talk to him. I’d say, ‘Hey, I want a contract.’ The first think he can say is, ‘You want a new contract? Look at where you are right now.’ I don’t want to take that chance yet.”

Ideally, Guillen would like the matter resolved before he leaves on a vacation to Spain. He is scheduled to leave two days after the White Sox’s seasons ends, whether the year concludes Sept. 28, or the team makes the postseason.

This thing with Ozzie is getting tiresome. Shut up and try to win a freaking game Ozzie.

Brett Ballantini has a good post up on the whole situation:

“There is a sad, sad story unfolding on the South Side, one that, barring a strong September and a stirring run into the postseason, will change the Chicago White Sox as we’ve known them for the last eight seasons.” …

Other White Sox links:

This year’s White Sox AFL team will be the Mesa Solar Sox (and Terry Doyle will play for them) [UPDATE]

Filed under: Chicago White Sox — The Wizard @ August 30, 2011 9:00 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

Merkin @ CWS:

White Sox Minor League pitcher Terry Doyle, catcher Josh Phegley, infielder Tyler Saladino and outfielder Brandon Short will be part of the Mesa Solar Sox in the 2011 Arizona Fall League. Triple-A Charlotte skipper Joe McEwing will be the club’s manager.

The AFL starts on October 4 and concludes with the AFL Championship on November 19.

UPDATE: Seems the Sox will send 3 more pitchers to Mesa.

The Rubric Theme Blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.