White Sox news, Minor Leagues updates and more

April 6, 2011

Will Carroll on Adam Dunn (who is Chicago Tough)

Filed under: Chicago White Sox — The Wizard @ April 6, 2011 11:21 pm
Tags: ,

Will Carroll (via WSCR):

“That’s how fast things have gone,” Will Carroll, of SI.com, said on the Danny Mac Show. “I’m 40 years old and in my senior year of high school I had an appendectomy. I missed six days of school at the tail end of my senior year, which wasn’t fun. I still have a three-inch scar from it. Today you have it laparoscopically, which is the abdominal equivalent of an arthroscope. They put in two small holes, that you won’t even see 10 days from now, you don’t have to have any stitches. They don’t have to tear any muscle, they can actually push it aside. They’ve just made this so minimally invasive that it’s almost nothing.

You go in there and you snip the appendix out and you go back. There’s very little trauma to it, and it’s just amazing that we have this technology. The amazing thing here is that they’re talking about five days. Now a week to 10 days, I think, is more reasonable,” Carroll said. “I know that Dunn doesn’t have to play the field, but he still has to have that hard twist. It’s not like his swing doesn’t have a lot of torque to it. So I think five [games] is a little optimistic, but the White Sox know their stuff.”

Dunn says A.J. rubbed some dirt on it and he’s ready to go (via Reifert):

“One thing I definitely don’t want to do is miss Opening Day at home. I’m going home tonight and planning on playing tomorrow and we’ll go from there. If it’s really sore and if I’m feeling like this tomorrow, we might have some problems. I’m anticipating it getting better. I’m a quick healer, like Wolverine. I asked the doctor yesterday how long these things take and he gave me a general answer for the public. I’m subtracting 15 days off it. If I can tolerate [the pain], then I want to play. I don’t mind playing when I’m not 100 percent.”

All in baby! Ozzie had a different response though:

“He said he wants to be out there tomorrow but I don’t want to take the risk,’’ Guillen said. “He said he can pinch-hit today, but that’s crazy. Will you see him tomorrow? I try to stay away from him because that’s the best for him and the ballclub and to me the player is more important than the club,’’ Guillen said. “When we get back to Chicago the doctor will check him again and we’ll make a decision if he can play this weekend or wait till the next series.’’

BTW, here’s video of Ozzie’s response.

1 Comment »

  1. [...] Dunn had to have his appendix removed, and apparently the team is going to wait out the 5 or more (or less) days it takes for him to come back rather than just filing an insurance claim and call the entire [...]

    Pingback by Thank goodness the White Sox got the hell out of Kansas City | White Sox Observer — May 25, 2011 @ May 25, 2011 3:34 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

The Rubric Theme Blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

