White Sox news, Minor Leagues updates and more

March 9, 2011

Inside Jake Peavy’s surgery

Filed under: Chicago White Sox — The Wizard @ March 9, 2011 11:30 pm
Tags:

Bloom @ MLB:

Peavy is months ahead of schedule because of experimental surgery performed on his right shoulder by Dr. Anthony Romeo in Chicago this past July 14. Peavy completely ruptured the tendon that holds the latissimus dorsi muscle to the rear of the shoulder. The stitches and anchors now adhere the tendon to the bone.

Romeo said that despite the dramatic and violent motion of a pitcher placing constant stress on the shoulder, there was little risk of any further damage.

“There’s no risk of [the anchors] coming out of the bone,” Romeo said. “It can’t happen. They have a reverse barb on them, like a fish hook. Once they go into the bone, you can’t really pull them back out. They fill the bone, so there’s not a weak spot in the bone anymore. There’s no risk that even throwing a baseball is going to lead to a crack in the bone.”

Peavy is the first Major League pitcher to undergo this procedure, blazing the trail for others who will surely come after him. …

Mark Buehrle worried his pickup move will be called a balk this season

Filed under: Chicago White Sox — The Wizard @ March 9, 2011 10:15 pm
Tags:

Padilla @ CSN:

The problem is that Mark Buehrle doesn’t know what to do.

In one sense, he feels that his highly deceptive pickoff move to first base is only an issue with umpire Joe West and his crew, so he will continue to use it, even though West’s crew called four of his five balks on him last year. West called two in one game and Angel Hernandez called two in another.

On the other hand, Buehrle is worried that umpires have been told this offseason that West’s interpretation of the balk rule is one that will become standard around the league. …

Jake Peavy on today’s start [UPDATE]

Filed under: Chicago White Sox — The Wizard @ March 9, 2011 10:00 pm
Tags:

Ballantini @ CSN:

“Today wasn’t as free and easy as the other day,” Peavy said. “It was certainly a lot of work to get ready, but my body did all we asked it to do. I wasn’t very sharp. I had pretty decent stuff. It was just a good step in the right direction, another hurdle to clear and moving on toward my ultimate goal, and that’s to break camp with the team.”
… “Getting up and down four times was the biggest thing,” Peavy said, unsure even of how many pitches he threw in the game. “[Ozzie and Coop] asked me if wanted to go back out. I hadn’t thrown out of stretch, and I wanted to go out of the stretch with game-like intensity.”
… “A good day, all in all,” Peavy said. “I came out of it healthy and climbing. That’s all you can ask for.”
… “That’s was one of the things we’re going to monitor: Am I able to bounce back and throw a good side session and have good days of playing catch, and feel up to par to starting five days later?” Peavy said. “We did that. It was a lot of work, but we got there. I hope that continues to be the case. I’m going to have typical soreness and probably am going to go through that dead arm period. The ball didn’t feel like it was coming out the other day like it did vs. Anaheim but like I said, you have these kind of starts. But we’re on the up and up. That was their ‘A’ lineup and we got some guys out. They hit the ball hard, but they were being aggressive. I was throwing the ball across the plate so …
… “I had a little hamstring tightness,” Peavy said. “We had that going on and wrapped up and like I said, my arm didn’t feel that great. So we didn’t want to go there and push it, push it, push it. Obviously we faced a pretty good lineup today and had to get some good hitters out, and I did that.”
… “My right hamstring has a little bit of a knot in it. When you have those little bitty things, there’s no sense in going out there in spring training and pushing the envelope. I would even suspect my velocity was probably more down a little bit, because I certainly didn’t push it as hard as I pushed it vs. Anaheim. The other day vs. Anaheim I made sure I was healthy and made sure I could throw the ball 90-92 mph without being hurt. I know I can do that now. I just need to find that happy medium of building that arm strength toward the start of the season now.”
… “I [threw] about five changeups, five cutters, five breaking balls, and a lot of fastballs,” he said. “I was aggressive today, [I threw] balls across the plate [but] made them hit it. I got a little tired—[against] Buster, I tried to throw a good sinker [but] got on top of it [for a] walk in there late. You start to lose a little command as the game wears on.”

UPDATE: Peavy’s day-after report came back positive.

Jonathan Mayo’s 2011 Top 10 White Sox prospects (video)

Mayo @ MLB:

And here’s Mayo’s White Sox OMG (One More Guy): Jacob Petricka, RHP.


http://chicago.whitesox.mlb.com/video/play.jsp?content_id=13144373&c_id=cws

Here’s Brent Morel’s description:

More of a right-handed Wade Boggs type than a power hitter at the hot corner, Morel is ready to take over at third for the White Sox. He’ll hit for average, as his .305 career mark shows, and he’s an outstanding defender, one who could even play shortstop if needed.

Wade Boggs? Did Kenny Williams made a deal with the devil?

Shane Lindsay is working on a cutter

Filed under: Chicago White Sox — The Wizard @ March 9, 2011 12:30 pm
Tags: ,

Schouwen @ CST:

[Shane] Lindsay, meanwhile, has impres­sed coaches and teammates with good stuff and good command. He throws a fastball, curve and changeup and is adapting well to the “slider-cutter’’ Cooper has him working on.

The Rubric Theme. Blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.