White Sox news, Minor Leagues updates and more

August 29, 2009

Kenny Williams seeks playoff riches

this team better make the playoffs says Kenny:

“This would be the most disappointing season for me if we don’t get in the playoffs. I like this team. This team is better than a lot of teams we’ve ever had here. If you want to stay here, take the AL Central title. If not, it leaves it to my imagination to make this team better. And I’ve got a big imagination.”

what did Jerry Reinsdorf think of taking on the Peavy contract?

Williams waited until the morning of July 31 to seek permission to acquire Peavy, who has $55.9 million remaining on a contract that runs through 2012. The answer was, “No.” “I know I had said, ‘Yes,’ back in May,” Reinsdorf says, “but Kenny got me in a weak moment. … I didn’t think we could afford him. But even though I said, ‘No,’ I told Kenny I was willing to talk about it.” Williams, assistant GM Rick Hahn and Reinsdorf talked about the 2010 budget. … “I had to be convinced I could handle the money,” Reinsdorf says. “They convinced me.”

how about the Rios contract?

When the Blue Jays put Rios, 28, on waivers the first week of August, the White Sox claimed him. Williams didn’t bother to clear the move with Reinsdorf, figuring there was no need. The claim was designed to work out a trade or block another contender from obtaining him. Never did Williams envision the Blue Jays would let Rios go for nothing. “I really believed there would be a deal,” Williams says, “but they wanted the financial relief instead.”

risky moves kenny?

“Where’s the gamble? Where’s the risk? I’m not going into this with my head down and wondering if it will work. This is what we needed to do to win a championship. There’s no guarantee, but I don’t think there’s a risk, either.”

no risk at all?

“Well, if I am wrong. I may be looking for a second job.”

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

The Rubric Theme Blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

