White Sox news, Minor Leagues updates and more

August 18, 2009

Jake Peavy’s 2nd minor-league start (video)

Filed under: Chicago White Sox — The Wizard @ August 18, 2009 10:05 pm
Tags: ,

Boxscore:

Player IP H R ER BB SO HR ERA
Peavy, J (L, 0-1) 4.0 5 4 3 0 5 1 3.86
Torres, C 4.0 6 1 1 3 5 0 2.36

Peavy threw 47 of his 67 pitches for strikes. Gonzales says his fastball was steadily clocked at 91 mph.

Here’s Peavy:

The ankle felt fine through everything Peavy did, calling the injury now the “least of my worries.” “I threw everything I had,” Peavy said. “Just didn’t have command of the breaking ball at all.” … “I have to be able to do certain things with the baseball to be the pitcher I know I can be,” said Peavy, who has fanned 10 and walked one in his seven innings pitched over the two Minor League starts. “I threw five or six breaking balls in a row, just to try and execute them. The baseball stuff is going to come. Right now, I have to get my strength back.

And here’s the video: Peavy works his way back (1:17).

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

The Rubric Theme. Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

