White Sox news, Minor Leagues updates and more

July 1, 2009

Ozzie Guillen is unpopular says SI survey

Filed under: Chicago White Sox — The Wizard @ July 1, 2009 3:06 pm
Tags:

A survey of 380 MLB players had Ozzie Guillen as the 2nd manager players LEAST want to play for. Ozzie had 21% of players against him. First least liked was Lou Piniella with 26%. Ozzie’s response to the poll after the jump.

”I don’t blame them [the players in the poll]. ‘What you see out there is another thing that you may see inside the clubhouse. They got Tony La Russa No. 3 [at 10 percent]? This guy has won a couple of times, no? Well, that’s people’s opinion; I respect that. As long as I’m No. 1 with the White Sox, that’s all I really care. ‘You have to walk by my clubhouse and walk by the players that play for me and then have an opinion. You have to ask the players that play for me. I’m not going to say 90 or 100 percent like me, but I think playing for me is fun. In the meanwhile, I demand a lot of stuff. I don’t demand things that a manager shouldn’t demand. ‘Maybe [the players] don’t like old-school baseball. They don’t like letting the players know what you feel. Maybe they worry about what you’re going to say in the newspaper. But in the meanwhile, you can ask any of my players, and let’s say 59 percent are going to say they like me. I won’t say 100 percent will say they like me, but 59 percent is enough for me to feel good enough. To play for me, you have to have some [guts]. It’s not easy. I expect to win every day, and that’s the way it is. ‘Ask Joe Crede if he would want to come back here and play. Ask [Aaron] Rowand if he would want to come back here and play. How many players that played for me come up and hug me? Maybe five players out of how many that played for me don’t like me. Like I say, if you want to play for me, you’re going to have some fun. But in the meanwhile, you better be ready to be a pro every day. That’s the way it should be.” Source

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

The Rubric Theme. Blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

